Home / Priv.-Doz. Dr. Beate Schrank, MSc., PhD

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Beate Schrank, MSc., PhD

Research Project D.O.T. - Project Leader

Publications

  1. 2019

    • Journal Article

      • Fichtenbauer, I., Priebe, S. & Schrank, B., 2019. [The German Version of DIALOG+ for Patients with Psychosis - A Pilot Study]. Psychiatrische Praxis.

      • Roider-Schur, S., Rumpold, T., Kirchheiner, K., Masel, E.Katharina, Nemecek, R., Amering, M., Watzke, H. & Schrank, B., 2019. Migrate your mind: the role of palliative care in transcultural cancer treatment : A qualitative analysis. Wiener klinische Wochenschrift, 131, S.191-199.

  2. 2018

    • Journal Article

      • Gmeiner, A., Aslan, J., Gaglia, A., Rumpold, T., Schrank, B., Sussenbacher, S. & Amering, M., 2018. Beliefs and distress related to hearing voices: the German version of the Beliefs About Voices Questionnaire-Revised (BAVQ-R). Neuropsychiatrie, 32, S.214-221.

      • Gruber, M., Rumpold, T., Schrank, B., Sibitz, I., Otzelberger, B., Jahn, R., Amering, M. & Unger, A., 2018. Recover recovery style from psychosis: a psychometric evaluation of the German version of the Recovery Style Questionnaire (RSQ). Epidemiology and Psychiatric Sciences, S.1-9.

      • Schrank, B. & der Forschungsgruppe, D.O.T.Team, 2018. D.O.T. – Die offene Tür: Ein Präventionsprojekt zur Förderung sozialer Verbundenheit unter Gleichaltrigen rund um die Zeit des Schulwechsels. psychopraxis. neuropraxis, 21, S.45-49.

  3. 2017

    • Journal Article

      • Rumpold, T., Schur, S., Amering, M., Ebert-Vogel, A., Kirchheiner, K., Masel, E., Watzke, H. & Schrank, B., 2017. Hope as determinant for psychiatric morbidity in family caregivers of advanced cancer patients. Psycho-Oncology, 26, S.672-678.

      • Schrank, B., Rumpold, T., Amering, M., Masel, E.K., Watzke, H. & Schur, S., 2017. Pushing boundaries-culture-sensitive care in oncology and palliative care: a qualitative study. Psycho-Oncology, 26, S.763-769.

      • Steiner-Hofbauer, V., Schrank, B. & Holzinger, A., 2017. What is a good doctor?. Wiener Medizinische Wochenschrift, 168, S.398-405.

      • Sussenbacher, S., Amering, M., Gmeiner, A. & Schrank, B., 2017. Gender-gaps and glass ceilings: A survey of gender-specific publication trends in Psychiatry between 1994 and 2014. European Psychiatry, 44, S.90-95.

  4. 2016

    • Journal Article

      • Schrank, B., Rumpold, T., Gmeiner, A., Priebe, S. & Aigner, M., 2016. Parenthood among patients with psychotic disorders: gender differences in a non-selective clinical sample. Psychiatry Research, 246, S.474-479.

Research Projects

  • Virtual Skills Lab

    Virtual reality as a training environment for strengthening social competences to promote teamwork in companies

    • Project Lead: Klaus Neundlinger, 4dimensions
    • Project Partner: Ludwig Boltzmann Gesellschaft / Forschungsgruppe DOT, Institute for Advanced Studies, Polycular OG, AIT Austrian Institute of Technology
    • Duration: 30 months starting from 01.03.2019

    Background

    Background:
    Complex social competencies, such as empathy, the ability to reflect or to constructively solve conflicts, are key in a contemporary work environment which is characterized by complex forms of interaction. This is the basis for our motivation to investigate novel forms of learning and training, which include emotional experiences in order to effect a sustainable increase in social competencies and, consequently, improve teamwork. Weaknesses of existing methods for promoting social competencies, such as a sole focus on cognitive stimuli, are specifically addressed through the use of virtual reality (VR).
    Aims:
    In a highly interdisciplinary process, this project examines how social skills (e.g. active listening, empathic change of perspective, etc.) can be trained using VR scenarios. The target group are middle management staff charged with a high number of coordination tasks, whose social skills impact the quality of the working conditions of the entire team they are responsible for. Based on the training approach of the consulting company 4dimensions, which focuses on optimizing team collaboration, a research prototype will be developed for the study.

  • D.O.T.

    Die Offene Tür - Mental Health Project

    • Project Number: LBG 01
    • Project Lead: Beate Schrank, Karl Landsteiner University of Health Sciences / D.O.T. - Die offene Tür (The Open Door)
    • Project Partner: Ludwig Boltzmann Gesellschaft
    • Duration: 48 months starting from 01.01.2018

    Background

    Social connectedness in adolescents is an important protective factor for health. Adolescent children of parents with mental illness (COPMI) are at risk of poor social connectedness, especially in periods of school transition. In COPMI and non-COPMI early adolescents, we seek to (i) understand mechanisms of social connectedness, (ii) improve social connectedness by enhancing social-emotional skills and appropriate peer connections through a digital hub, (iii) tailor the hub to maximise individuals’ gains, (iv) facilitate related positive outcomes, such as reductions in stigma via opportunity for positive COPMI-non-COPMI contact. Profound literature reviews and ongoing stakeholder and expert consultation will guide the design of a blended intervention comprising the online hub housing digital experiences and peer matching, and complementary school/service-based social wellbeing programmes. A pilot evaluation will test the intervention acceptability, feasibility and processes of changes; and explore the efficacy of the hub in two versions, i.e. standard and an individually adaptive mode.

Events

  1. 14 Mar

    Open House at KL University - March 2020

    14. March 2020, 10:00 - 14:00
    Karl Landsteiner University, Dr.-Karl-Dorrek-Straße 30,3500 Krems, Trakt Y, Erdgeschoß
  2. 27 Mar

    International Skills Lab Symposium 2020

    27. March 2020, 09:00 - 28. March 2020, 18:00
    Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität für Gesundheitswissenschaften, Skills Lab, Trakt Y
  3. 16 Nov

    Open House at KL University - November 2019

    16. November 2019, 10:00 - 14:00
    Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität, Dr.-Karl-Dorrek-Straße 30,3500 Krems, Trakt Y, Erdgeschoß

Home / Priv.-Doz. Dr. Beate Schrank, MSc., PhD

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Beate Schrank, MSc., PhD

Forschungsprojekt D.O.T. - Projektleiterin

Beate Schrank

Publikationen

  1. 2019

    • Zeitschriftenartikel

      • Roider-Schur, S., Rumpold T., Kirchheiner K., Masel E. K., Nemecek R., Amering M., et al.
        (2019).  Migrate your mind: the role of palliative care in transcultural cancer treatment : A qualitative analysis.
        Wien Klin Wochenschr. 131, 191-199.

Forschungsprojekte

  • Virtual Skills Lab

    Virtual Reality als Trainingsumgebung für die Stärkung sozialer Kompetenzen zur Förderung von Teamfähigkeit im Unternehmen

    • Projektleitung: Klaus Neundlinger, 4dimensions
    • Projektpartner: Ludwig Boltzmann Gesellschaft / Forschungsgruppe DOT, Institut für Höhere Studien, Polycular OG, AIT Austrian Institute of Technology
    • Projektlaufzeit: 30 Monate ab 01.03.2019

    Hintergrund

    Ausgangssituation:
    Einfühlungsvermögen, Reflexions- und Konfliktfähigkeit sind Schlüsselkompetenzen in einer Arbeitswelt, die durch komplexe lnteraktionsformen gekennzeichnet ist. Daraus erwächst die Motivation, in einem interdisziplinären Forschungsprozess Lern­und Übungsformen zu untersuchen, die das emotionale Erleben einschließen und dadurch eine nachhaltige Steigerung sozialer Kompetenzen und damit in weiterer Folge der Teamfähigkeit bewirken sollen. Schwächen existierender Methoden zur Förderung sozialer Kompetenz, wie etwa die Beschränkung auf kognitive Stimuli, werden mithilfe des Einsatzes virtueller Realität (VR) gezielt adressiert.
    Ziele:
    Dieses Projekt untersucht, wie soziale Kompetenzen (zum Beispiel aktives Zuhören, empathischer Perspektivenwechsel etc.) mit Hilfe von VR-Szenarien trainiert werden können. Zielgruppe sind Personen des mittleren Managements mit hohen Koordinationsanforderungen, deren soziale Kompetenzen die Qualität der Arbeitsbedingungen des ganzen Teams beeinflussen. Für die Untersuchung wird ein Forschungsprototyp entwickelt, der auf dem Trainingsansatz der 4dimensions GmbH aufbaut. Bei diesem geht es um die Optimierung der Teamzusammenarbeit.

  • D.O.T.

    Die Offene Tür

    • Projektnummer: LBG 01
    • Projektleitung: Beate Schrank, Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität für Gesundheitswissenschaften / D.O.T. - Die offene Tür
    • Projektpartner: Ludwig Boltzmann Gesellschaft
    • Projektlaufzeit: 48 Monate ab 01.01.2018

    Hintergrund

    Die soziale Verbundenheit bei Jugendlichen ist ein wichtiger Schutzfaktor für die Gesundheit. Jugendliche Kinder von Eltern mit einer psychischen Erkrankung (COPMI) sind in Gefahr, insbesondere in Übergangszeiten des Schulwechsels. Bei den ersten Jugendlichen von COPMI und Nicht-COPMI versuchen wir (i) die Mechanismen sozialer Verbundenheit zu verstehen, (ii) die soziale Verbundenheit zu verbessern, indem sie die sozial-emotionalen Fähigkeiten und geeignete Peer-Verbindungen über einen digitalen Hub verbessern und (iii) den Hub auf das Maximum optimieren Gewinnen von Individuen, (iv) Erleichterung der damit verbundenen positiven Ergebnisse, z. B. Verringerung der Stigmatisierung durch die Möglichkeit eines positiven COPMI-Kontakts. Fundierte Literaturrecherchen und laufende Konsultationen von Interessengruppen und Experten werden die Gestaltung einer kombinierten Intervention leiten, die den Online-Hub umfasst, in dem digitale Erfahrungen und Peer-Matching sowie ergänzende schul- / dienstleistungsorientierte Programme zum sozialen Wohlbefinden angeboten werden. In einer Pilotevaluierung werden die Akzeptanz, Durchführbarkeit und Änderungsprozesse von Interventionen getestet. und erkunden Sie die Effizienz in zwei Versionen, d. h. im Standardmodus und im individuell adaptiven Modus.

Events

  1. 15 Okt

    Hearing Biostatistics and Data Sciences

    15. Oktober 2019, 09:30 - 12:00
    Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität für Gesundheitswissenschaften Trakt Y, 4.Stock, Skylounge
  2. 17 Okt

    Semester Opening für KL Studierende

    17. Oktober 2019, 20:00 - 23:00
    Kloster UND, Undstraße 6, 3504 Krems/Stein
  3. 25 Okt

    1. NÖ Krebsinformationstag

    25. Oktober 2019, 09:00 - 17:00
    Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität, Trakt Y