Home / University / Fundraising / Support of research projects / Research topic Water Quality and Health

Research topic Water Quality and Health

The Division Water Quality and Health focuses on the development and application of future-oriented methods for the analysis of health-related microbiological water quality. Currently the following research projects can be supported:

Current research projects

Water is one of the most valuable resources worldwide. The quality of water is of fundamental importance for human health in all areas of life. Intensive activities reflect this relevance also at the level of research and science. In the medical/clinical context, water also has an important significance, as water of special quality must be made available for specific treatments of patients.

Detection of fecal pollution in water with innovative methods of the future

"Revolutionizing Water Quality Testing"

Estimates show that at least 2 billion people use fecal-polluted drinking water resources. Water contaminated with faeces can contain high concentrations of pathogens and, if exposed, lead to infectious diseases and epidemics. According to the WHO, nearly 10% of global health impacts are still caused by contaminated water or lack of sanitation. The research group of Prof. Andreas Farnleitner is therefore working on new, innovative methods for the investigation of faecal microbiological pollution in water and water resources for faster - e.g. by field detection and/or online methods - and more comprehensive analysis. What are the sources of pollution? What are the associated health risks? The information obtained is essential for the implementation and control of water and sanitation security plans according to WHO guidelines. A special focus of the group is the molecular biological (DNA-targeted) detection of microbiological faecal indicators and genetic faecal markers of human, but also animal, pollution sources.

Occurrence and significance of human-associated antibiotic-resistant bacteria in water resources

"Highlighting Antimicrobial Resistance in Water Resources"

The increase in antibiotic-resistant bacteria (ARB) is a global threat to human and animal health (keyword: "One Health"). In addition to everyday clinical practice, where ARBs are already an acute problem in the treatment of patients, the increased incidence of human-associated ARBs in water resources is a growing cause for concern. Scientific facts on the health significance of the spread of ARBs via wastewater and surface water must be collected in the future in order to be able to derive a well-founded evaluation - and if necessary - appropriate management measures. The research group around Prof. Alexander Kirschner and Prof. Andreas Farnleitner, in cooperation with the Medical University of Graz (Doz. Gernot Zarfel, Doz. Clemens Kittinger), is dealing with the occurrence, the significance, but also the mechanisms of resistance spread and formation of human-associated ARBs in water resources.

Detection and dissemination of emerging pathogens in the course of global change

"Emerging Pathogens in Water"

Global changes, such as global warming, also lead to sustainable changes in water ecosystems, such as significant increases in surface water temperatures and the occurrence of water-associated pathogens. In particular, representatives of the genus Vibrio have been identified as "bioindicators of global warming" in water bodies. Several pathogens belong to the genus Vibrio, among them Vibrio cholerae, the pathogen of cholera, which causes major problems especially in subtropical and tropical latitudes or in crisis areas. In bathing waters of temperate latitudes, infections caused by Vibrio cholerae strains, which cannot cause cholera, are increasingly common. These are wound, ear and blood infections or massive skin infections (necrotizing fasciitis), which can lead to death in certain groups of people with previous illnesses or a weakened immune system. The research group of Prof. Alexander Kirschner has been working for years with national and international partners on new, innovative methods for the detection of Vibrio cholerae in bathing waters as well as on models that allow the prediction of the occurrence of the pathogen in these waters.

Would you like to learn more about "Water Quality and Health"? In an interview Univ.-Prof. PD. Dr. Andreas Farnleitner, MSc.Tox, Head of Division Water Quality and Health, Department Pharmacology, Physiology and Microbiology informs about the importance of a commitment to clean drinking water and the challenges this poses.

You are interested in supporting a research topic of the Division Water Quality and Health?

Please contact us for further information.

Univ.-Prof. PD. Dr. Andreas Farnleitner, MSc.Tox.

Head of Dept. Pharmacology, Physiology and Microbiology, Division Water Quality and Health

Publications Team Water Quality and Health

Events

  1. 30 Nov

    INFO TALK: Psychology - in GERMAN only

    30. November 2020, 18:00 - 19:00
    Online Chatroom: Microsoft Teams
  2. 02 Dec

    STUDENT TALK: Psychology - in GERMAN only

    02. December 2020, 18:00
    Instagram Channel
  3. 08 Dec

    Meet the Expert Medicine - questions in English will be answered

    08. December 2020, 18:00 - 19:00
    Instagram Channel

Home / Universität / Fundraising / Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten in der Forschung / Förderbereich Wasserqualität und Gesundheit

Förderbereich Wasserqualität und Gesundheit

Der Fachbereich Wasserqualität und Gesundheit konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung und Anwendung zukunftsweisender Verfahren zur Analyse der gesundheitsbezogenen mikrobiologischen Wasserqualität. Derzeit können unter anderem folgende Forschungsvorhaben unterstützt werden:

Aktuelle Forschungsvorhaben

Wasser zählt zu den wertvollsten Ressourcen weltweit. Die Qualität von Wasser ist in allen Lebensbereichen für die menschliche Gesundheit von grundlegender Bedeutung. Intensive Aktivitäten spiegeln diese Relevanz auch auf Ebene der Forschung und Wissenschaft wieder. Im medizinischen/klinischen Kontext hat Wasser darüber hinaus eine wichtige Bedeutung, da für spezifische Behandlungen an Patientinnen_Patienten Wasser in besonderer Qualität verfügbar gemacht werden muss.

Nachweis fäkaler Verschmutzungen in Wasser mit innovativen Methoden der Zukunft

"Revolutionizing Water Quality Testing"

Abschätzungen zeigen, dass zumindest 2 Milliarden Menschen fäkal-verschmutzte Trinkwasserressourcen benutzen. Mit Fäkalien kontaminiertes Wasser kann hohe Konzentrationen an Krankheitserregern enthalten und führt bei Exposition zu Infektionserkrankungen und Epidemien. Nach Angaben der WHO sind nach wie vor nahezu 10% der globalen Gesundheitsbelastungen auf verunreinigtes Wasser oder fehlende sanitäre Einrichtungen zurückzuführen. Die Forschungsgruppe um Prof. Andreas Farnleitner beschäftigt sich daher mit neuen, innovativen Untersuchungsmethoden für fäkal-mikrobiologische Verschmutzungen in Wasser und Wasserressourcen zur schnelleren – etwa durch Feldnachweise oder/und Online Methoden – und umfassenderen Analyse. Was sind die Verschmutzungsquellen? Welche Gesundheitsrisiken sind damit verbunden? Die erhaltenen Informationen sind essenziell zur Umsetzung und Kontrolle von Wasser- und Sanitärsicherheitsplänen gemäß WHO-Vorgaben. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt der Gruppe ist der molekularbiologische (DNA-zielgerichtete) Nachweis mikrobiologischer Fäkalindikatoren und genetischer Fäkalmarker von menschlichen, aber auch tierischen, Verschmutzungsquellen.

Vorkommen und Bedeutung menschassoziierter antibiotikaresistenter Bakterien in Wasserressourcen

"Highlighting Antimicrobial Resistance in Water Resources"

Die Zunahme von antibiotikaresistenten Bakterien (ARB) ist eine globale Bedrohung für die menschliche und tierische Gesundheit (Schlagwort: “One Health“). Neben dem klinischen Alltag, wo ARB bereits ein akutes Problem in der Behandlung von Patientinnen und Patienten darstellen, gibt auch das vermehrte Auftreten von mit dem Menschen assoziierten ARB in Wasserressourcen zunehmend Anlass zur Besorgnis. Wissenschaftliche Fakten zur gesundheitlichen Bedeutung zur Verbreitung von ARB über Abwasser und Oberflächenwasser sind zukünftig zu erheben, um eine fundierte Bewertung – und falls notwendig – geeignete Managementmaßnahmen ableiten zu können. Die Forschungsgruppe rund um Prof. Alexander Kirschner und Prof. Andreas Farnleitner, in Kooperation mit der Medizinischen Universität Graz (Doz. Gernot Zarfel, Doz. Clemens Kittinger), beschäftigt sich mit dem Vorkommen, der Bedeutung, aber auch den Mechanismen der Resistenzausbreitung und Bildung von mit dem Menschen assoziierten ARB in Wasserressourcen.

Nachweis und Verbreitung von aufkommenden Krankheitserregern im Zuge globaler Veränderungen

"Emerging Pathogens in Water"

Globale Veränderungen, wie die Erderwärmung, führen auch zu nachhaltigen Wandeln von Wasser-Ökosystemen, wie die signifikante Zunahme der Temperaturen von Oberflächengewässern und dem Auftreten von wasserassoziierten Krankheitserregern. Im Speziellen wurden Vertreter der Gattung Vibrio als „Bioindikatoren der Erderwärmung“ in Gewässern identifiziert. Zur Gattung Vibrio gehören mehrere Krankheitserreger, darunter Vibrio cholerae, der Erreger der Cholera, der vor allem in subtropischen und tropischen Breiten bzw. in Krisengebieten große Probleme verursacht. In Badegewässern gemäßigter Breiten sind zunehmend Infektionen zu verzeichnen, die durch Vibrio cholerae Stämme verursacht werden, die keine Cholera auslösen können. Dabei handelt es sich um Wund-, Ohren-, Blutinfektionen oder massive Infektionen der Haut (nekrotisierende Fasciitis), die bei bestimmten Personengruppen mit Vorerkrankungen oder geschwächtem Immunsystem zum Tod führen können. Die Forschungsgruppe von Prof. Alexander Kirschner arbeitet seit Jahren mit nationalen und internationalen Partner_innen an neuen, innovativen Methoden zum Nachweis von Vibrio cholerae in Badegewässern sowie an Modellen, die die Vorhersage des Vorkommens des Krankheitserregers in diesen Gewässern ermöglichen.

Sie möchten mehr zum Fachbereich "Wasserqualität und Gesundheit" erfahren? Im Interview erzählt Univ.-Prof. PD. Dr. Andreas Farnleitner, MSc.Tox, Leiter Fachbereich Wasserqualität und Gesundheit an der KL über die Wichtigkeit des Engagements für sauberes Trinkwasser und welche Herausforderungen sich dadurch ergeben.

Sie haben Interesse, ein Förderthema des Fachbereichs Wasserqualität und Gesundheit zu unterstützen?

Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns, gerne stehen wir für weitere Informationen zur Verfügung.

Andreas Farnleitner

Univ.-Prof. PD. Dr. Andreas Farnleitner, MSc.Tox.

Dept. Pharmakologie, Physiologie und Mikrobiologie, Fachbereich Wasserqualität und Gesundheit (Leitung)

Publikationen Team Wasserqualität und Gesundheit:

Events

  1. 10 Jun

    Online INFO TALK Masterstudium Psychologie

    10. Juni 2020, 17:00 - 17:30
    Online Chatroom
  2. 17 Sep

    Internationales Skills Lab Symposium 2020 - ABGESAGT

    17. September 2020, 09:00 - 19. September 2020, 18:00
    Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität für Gesundheitswissenschaften, Skills Lab, Trakt Y
  3. 18 Mär

    Internationales Skills Lab Symposium 2021

    18. März 2021, 09:00 - 20. März 2021, 18:00
    Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität für Gesundheitswissenschaften, Skills Lab, Trakt Y