Home / Study & Continuing Education / Study / Study Counselling / FAQ

FAQ

General

Who is the KL?

KL is the abbreviation for Karl Landsteiner University for Health Sciences. It is a private university which received accreditation from the Agency for Quality Assurance and Accreditation Austria (AQ Austria) in November 2013.

How is the KL organised?

Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität für Gesundheitswissenschaften GmbH, a non-profit company, is the legal entity responsible for the provision of tertiary education by Karl Landsteiner University of Health Sciences. The company’s shareholders are Medical University of Vienna, Technical University Vienna, MedAustron and Province of Lower Austria (25 percent each). The Lower Austrian Landeskliniken-Holding, Danube University Krems, IMC University of Applied Sciences Krems and the University of Basel accompany KL as partners.

Is a degree from KL University internationally recognised?

Yes. Karl Landsteiner University of Health Sciences (KL) respectively all degree programmes at KL have been accredited by the Agency for Quality Assurance and Accreditation Austria (AQ Austria) and awarded the AQ Austria quality seal. This confirms the legal status and high quality standard of KL, which is guaranteed by the strict official accreditation procedure oriented towards international standards.

What should the letter of motiviation contain?

The letter of motivation describes the reasons / motives / expectations etc. why you would like to study at KL. The letter of motivation must be written in the language of the chosen degree programme.

Do I have to pay a penalty if I do not accept the study place?

The withdrawal deadlines can be found in the General Terms and Conditions on the KL website. The processing fee is a prerequisite for application and will not be refunded (regardless of when you decide not to study at KL).

How and when is the administration fee to be paid?

The administration fee must be paid as part of the online application. You will receive your personal payment information when you submit your application. Payment is possible by Paypal (credit card) or by bank transfer (you will receive the invoice by e-mail). The administration fee is non-refundable. For foreign bank transfers, please note that transaction fees are not charged to KL.

How to file for withdrawal from a confirmed place of study?

Withdrawal from the contract is possible. The exact options and criteria can be found in point 5 of our General Terms and Conditions.

Summary:

  • Cancellation (without giving reasons) is possible up to 6 weeks before the start of the programme - a processing fee of € 300,- has to be paid in this case.
  • After expiry of this 6-week period, withdrawal is possible up to 1 week before the start of studies if proof can be provided that you have been accepted at another (domestic, state) university in the same field of study. Studying medicine at the MUW would therefore definitely meet the criteria! A processing fee of € 700,- will then be due.
  • If this deadline has also passed, withdrawal is only possible for the reasons listed in the General Terms and Conditions. If none of the reasons given there are applicable, the entire tuition fee must be paid.

Where can I find information about scholarships?

You can find more information about our scholarships under: Scholarships and Loans and on the website of the advisory office for KL scholarships (Gesellschaft für Forschungsförderung Niederösterreich m.b.H.) - german only.

At what time do the semester fees have to be paid?

You will receive the invoice for the fee for the first semester after you have accepted the study place by sending the signed education contract and GTC. This must be paid before you start your studies.

Is it important to use the europass CV?

Yes, please use the Europass format if possible.

Does the CV have to be in English?

The CV can be written in German or English. We recommend that you write the CV in the language of instruction of your studies.

Is it possible to access the tests?

There is no access within the admission procedure. It is also forbidden to photograph or copy the tasks (any attempt or action will be legally prosecuted and may lead to claims for damages).

How much time do I have to confirm my place at the university before it is allocated to someone else? / When will I receive the first invoice?

You have 7 days to accept the place by sending us the signed training contract and the General Terms and Conditions. After that, we will send you the invoice for the tuition fees for the first semester by e-mail.

I will only graduate this year, can I still apply?

Yes, it is already possible to apply. You can submit your school leaving certificate as soon as you have received it.

Medicine

What can I do with a BA Medical Science?

A Bachelor's degree in Medical Science opens up career prospects throughout the healthcare sector, the pharmaceutical industry or even in biomedical engineering. The degree provides a high quality basis for further education in areas such as:

  • Medical technology
  • Medical documentation
  • Pharmaceutical industry
  • Health care in general

The completion of the Bachelor's degree in Medical Science is the prerequisite for the integrative Master's degree in Human Medicine at KL. Only upon completion of the Master's programme in Human Medicine do students receive the academic degree of Dr.med.univ.

What level of English do I need?

Proof of knowledge of the English language is required at least at level B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR):
o IELTS (minimum score 6.0)
o TOEFL (minimum score 87)
o English-Cambridge 1st Certificate
o Standardised school-leaving examination in English (Zentralmatura)

Should I take Latin before I start my studies?

Not necessarily. Although Latin is an admission requirement, it can be taken during the course of studies. The earlier you take Latin, the better it is for your studies. There is also the possibility of taking an extracurricular course in terminology at the KL, which fulfils the "Latin criterion".
 
Latin requirements : Proof of positive completion of at least 10 hours of Latin per week at a secondary school. If not available, a supplementary examination in Latin must be taken during the course of studies before the final examination for the Bachelor's degree and is thus a prerequisite for the Bachelor's degree to be completed.

How can I prepare for the entrance test?

The test does not check any knowledge levels. Therefore no real "studying" is required. Here are some tips on how to prepare.

  • Information brochure on the entrance test on the KL website
  • General Part of the German Med Test or Med AT
  • Any books on the subject of the intelligence test from the bookshop
  • Participation in the KL Open House Day (you will meet students who have taken the test and will share their experiences)

What are the chances of getting a place for Medical Studies at KL?

2021: We had just under 5 applicants for one available place. This is still less than at the public universities.

Does Covid-19 change anything in the admission procedure?

The written entrance test for the Bachelor's programme in Medical Science will take place as an online test from 2020. Further up-to-date details on the admission procedure can be found at: Application and admission

 

How long does it take to get an interview appointment after passing the written test?

The test result is available in the Open Campus System approximately one to two weeks after the last test date. After that - if you have been admitted to the second step of the admission procedure - you can book the interview appointment.

Psychology

What can I do with a BA Psychology?

To be able to work as a psychologist, you have to complete a Master's degree. The training requirements to become a psychologist is regulated by law.
 
The degree entitles the holder to pursue psychological activities on a self-employed basis under professional supervision. The degree also professionalises in the extended professional field:

  • psychosocial research
  • psychological statistics 
  • foundation for psychotherapy and counselling sciences

What are the chances of getting a study place in Psychology at KL?

In 2021, 40 study places are available in each programme. Since the programme is still relatively new at KL, we started with 25 students in 2020, for example.

Does Covid-19 change anything in the admission procedure?

The admission procedures for the Bachelor's programme in Psychology and the Master's programme in Psychology are unaffected by the current situation and already take place on an ongoing basis in the form of online interviews. Further details under: Application and admission

Lateral entry Medicine

Is there an administration fee for a lateral entry application?

Yes, you will find up-to-date information on the administration fee under recognition of previous academic performances or under selection process. Your application cannot be processed until all documents have been submitted in full and the processing fee has been received.

I am not sure whether my previous achievements are sufficient for a lateral entry. Can I also apply for the regular admission procedure at the same time?

Yes, this is possible. You can apply for several degree programmes at the same time using the online application tool. However, as these are separate application strands, all applications submitted must be tracked separately. (Please note the respective deadlines!)

I have applied for a lateral entry into Medical Studies. Do I also have to complete the regular admission procedure?

No, there is a separate admission procedure for this. A fixed component is an oral interview.
Depending on the results of the detailed examination of your submitted documents, a written supplementary examination on open contents may also be required in advance.
In the case of multiple applications, all admission procedures must be completed separately.

Can I apply for a specific entry year or for direct entry into the Master's programme?

This is not possible directly. Within the framework of the lateral entry procedure, you can only apply for entry into a higher study year of our medical degree programme. Only a review of your previous achievements will show which entry option we could offer you in principle.

What are the chances of getting a place at university?

The chances of getting a place at university depend on the available lateral entry places and vary from year to year. Unfortunately, it is not possible to make a preliminary assessment during the application phase.

When will I know if I have been offered a place?

After the detailed examination of your submitted documents, you will receive information as to whether a lateral entry is possible in principle due to your previous achievements or under which conditions we could offer you a lateral entry. This information is independent of the availability of study places.
Confirmations of places will be made at the earliest one week after the actual admission procedure, which usually takes place at the end of August. In the event of cancellations, students will be offered a place until around mid-September.

Events

  1. 03 Nov

    KL Lunchtime Seminar: On the Physiological Role of Store-Operated Calcium Entry in Skeletal Muscle

    03. November 2021, 12:00 - 13:00
    Karl Landsteiner University, 3500 Krems/Donau, Wing Y, KL Auditorium

Home / Studium & Weiterbildung / Studium / Studienberatung / FAQ

FAQ

Allgemeines

Wer ist die KL?

KL ist die Abkürzung für Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität für Gesundheitswissenschaften. Es ist eine private Hochschule, welche Ende 2013 von der Agentur für Qualitätssicherung und Akkreditierung Austria (AQ Austria) akkreditiert worden ist.

Wie ist die KL organisiert?

Die gemeinnützige Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität für Gesundheits-wissenschaften GmbH ist Rechtsträgerin der KL. Gesellschafterinnen sind die Medizinische Universität Wien, die TU Wien, MedAustron sowie das Land Niederösterreich (zu je 25 Prozent). Die NÖ Landeskliniken-Holding, die Donau-Universität Krems, die IMC Fachhochschule Krems sowie die Universität Basel begleiten die KL als Partner.

Ist ein Abschluss an der KL Privatuniversität international anerkannt?

Ja. Die Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität für Gesundheitswissenschaften (KL) beziehungsweise alle Studiengänge der KL wurden von der Agentur für Qualitätssicherung und Akkreditierung Austria (AQ Austria) akkreditiert und mit dem Qualitätssiegel der AQ Austria ausgezeichnet. Dies bestätigt den rechtlichen Status und hohen Qualitätsstandard der KL, der durch das strenge behördliche und an internationalen Standards orientierte Akkreditierungsverfahren garantiert ist.

Wie soll das Motivationsschreiben aussehen?

Im Motivationsschreiben werden die Gründe / Motive / Erwartungen etc. beschrieben, warum man gerne an der KL studieren möchte. Das Motivationsschreiben ist in der Sprache des gewählten Studiums zu verfassen.

Wie und wann ist die Bearbeitungsgebühr einzuzahlen?

Die Bearbeitungsgebühr ist im Rahmen der online Bewerbung zu bezahlen. Beim Absenden Ihrer Anmeldung erhalten Sie Ihre persönliche Zahlungsinformation. Die Zahlung ist mittels Paypal (Kreditkarte) oder mittels Banküberweisung (Sie erhalten die Rechnung per E-Mail) möglich. Die Bearbeitungsgebühr wird nicht rückerstattet. Bei Auslandsüberweisungen ist zu beachten, dass die Transaktionsgebühren nicht zu Lasten der KL gehen.

Muss ich eine Pönale zahlen, wenn ich den Studienplatz nicht annehme?

Die Rücktrittsfristen sind in den AGBs auf der KL Website nachzulesen
Die Bearbeitungsgebühr ist Voraussetzung für die Bewerbung und wird auch nicht zurückerstattet (egal zu welchem Zeitpunkt man sich entscheidet, nicht an der KL studieren zu wollen).

Wie sieht es mit dem Rücktritt vom zugesagten Studienplatz aus?

Ein Rücktritt vom Vertrag ist möglich. Die genaue Optionen und Kriterien finden Sie in Punkt 5 unserer AGBs.
 
 Zusammenfassung:
  • Bis 6 Wochen vor Studienbeginn ist der Rücktritt (ohne Angabe von Gründen) möglich – eine Bearbeitungspauschale von € 300,- ist in diesem Fall zu entrichten.
  • Nach Ablauf dieser 6-Wochen-Frist, ist ein Rücktritt bis 1 Woche vor Studienbeginn möglich, wenn ein Nachweis erbracht werden kann, dass Sie an einer anderen (inländischen, staatlichen) Universität im selben Studienfach aufgenommen werden. Ein Medizinstudium an der MUW würde hier also definitiv die Kriterien erfüllen! Hierfür wäre dann eine Bearbeitungspauschale von € 700,- fällig.
  • Ist auch diese Frist verstrichen, ist nur mehr ein Rücktritt über die in den AGB aufgezählten Gründe möglich bzw die gesamte Studiengebühr zu zahlen.

Wo kann ich mich über Stipendien informieren?

Näheres zu unseren Stipendien finden Sie unter: Stipendien und Finanzierung
und auf der Website der Beratungsstelle für KL-Stipendien (Gesellschaft für Forschungsförderung Niederösterreich m.b.H.).

Zu welchem Zeitpunkt sind die Semestergebühren zu entrichten?

Die Rechnung über die Gebühr für das erste Semester erhalten Sie, nachdem Sie den Studienplatz mittels Zusendung des unterschriebenen Ausbildungsvertrages und AGB angenommen haben. Diese ist noch vor Studienstart zu bezahlen.

Ist es wichtig den europass-Lebenslauf zu verwenden?

Ja, bitte verwenden Sie wenn möglich das Europass Format.

Lebenslauf auf Englisch?

Der Lebenslauf kann auf Deutsch oder Englisch verfasst sein. Wir empfehlen, den Lebenslauf in der Unterrichtssprache des Studiums zu verfassen.

Kann man auf die Tests zugreifen?

Innerhalb des Aufnahmeverfahrens gibt es keine Einsicht. Auch das Fotografieren oder Vervielfältigen der Aufgaben ist verboten (jeder Versuch bzw. jede Handlung wird rechtlich verfolgt und kann zu Schadensersatzansprüchen führen).

Wie lange habe ich Zeit, den Studienplatz zuzusagen, bevor dieser evtl. anderweitig vergeben wird? / Wann kommt dann die erste Rechnung?

Sie haben 7 Tage Zeit um den Studienplatz mittels Zusendung des unterschriebenen Ausbildungsvertrages und AGB anzunehmen. Danach senden wir die Rechnung der Studiengebühr für das erste Semester per Mail an Sie.

Ich maturiere erst heuer, kann ich mich trotzdem schon bewerben?

Ja, die Bewerbung ist schon möglich. Das Maturazeugnis kann nachgereicht werden, sobald Sie es erhalten haben.

Medizin

Was kann ich mit einem BA Medical Science machen?

Mit einem Bachelorabschluss in Medical Science eröffnen sich auch Berufsperspektiven im gesamten Gesundheitswesen, der pharmazeutischen Industrie oder auch in der biomedizinischen Technik. Das Studium bietet eine hochqualitative Basis für eine Weiterbildung in Bereichen wie:

  • Medizintechnik
  • Medizinisches Dokumentationswesen
  • Pharmazeutische Industrie
  • Gesundheitswesen Allgemein

Der Abschluss des Bachelorstudiums Medical Science stellt die Voraussetzung für das integrativ angelegte Masterstudium Humanmedizin der KL dar. Erst durch den Abschluss des Masterstudium Humanmedizin erhalten die Studierenden den akademischen Grad Dr.med.univ.

Welches Englisch-Level brauche ich?

Nachweis über die Kenntnis der englischen Sprache mindestens auf Level B2 des gemeinsamen europäischen Referenzrahmens (GER):

Soll ich Latein noch vor dem Studium nachholen?

Nicht unbedingt. Latein ist zwar eine Zulassungsbedingung, diese kann jedoch während des Studiums erbracht werden. Je früher der Latein-Nachweis erbracht wird desto besser für den Verlauf des Studiums. Auch an der KL gibt es die Möglichkeit einen extracurricularen Kurs in Terminologie zu absolvieren, der das „Latein-Kriterium“ erfüllt.
 
Latein: Nachweis über das positive Bestehen von mind. 10 Wochenstunden in Latein an einer höheren Schule. Falls nicht vorhanden, ist eine Ergänzungsprüfung zu Latein im Lauf des Studiums vor der Abschlussprüfung für den Bachelor abzulegen und ist somit eine Voraussetzung, damit das Bachelorstudium abgeschlossen werden kann.

Wie kann ich mich auf den Aufnahmetest vorbereiten?

  • Infobroschüre Aufnahmetest auf der KL-Website
  • Allgemeiner Teil Deutscher Med Test bzw. Med AT
  • Jegliche Bücher zum Thema Intelligenztest aus der Buchhandlung
  • Teilnahme am Tag der Offenen Tür der KL (Kontakt mit Studierenden hier möglich)

Wie stehen die Chancen einen Studienplatz zu bekommen?

2021: Hatten wir knapp 5 Bewerber_innen für einen verfügbaren Studienplatz. Dies sind noch weniger als an den öffentlichen Universitäten.

Ändert sich durch Covid-19 etwas am Aufnahmeverfahren?

Der schriftliche Aufnahmetest für das Bachelorstudium Medical Science findet ab 2020 als online Test statt. Weitere jeweils aktuelle Details zum Aufnahmeverfahren finden Sie unter: Bewerbung und Zulassung.

Wie lange dauert es, bis man den Interview-Termin nach dem bestandenen schriftlichen Test bekommt?

Das Testergebnis ist circa ein bis zwei Wochen nach dem letzten Testtermin im Open Campus System ersichtlich. Danach können Sie – wenn Sie zum zweiten Schritt des Aufnahmeverfahrens zugelassen wurden – den Interviewtermin buchen.

Psychologie

Was kann ich mit einem BA Psychologie machen?

Der Abschluss berechtigt dazu, unselbstständig unter fachlicher Anleitung psychologischen Tätigkeiten nachzugehen. Um als Psycholog_in arbeiten zu können, muss man das Masterstudium abschließen. Die Ausbildung zum Psychologen ist gesetzlich geregelt.

Das Studium professionalisiert auch im erweiterten Berufsfeld:

  • psychosozialen Forschung
  • psychologischen Statistik 
  • Grundlage für Psychotherapie- und Beratungswissenschaften

Wie stehen die Chancen einen Studienplatz zu bekommen?

2021 starten wir mit je 40 Studienplätzen. Da das Studium noch relativ neu an der KL ist, sind wir z.B.: 2020 mit 25 Studierenden gestartet.

Ändert sich durch Covid-19 etwas am Aufnahmeverfahren?

Die Aufnahmeverfahren zum Bachelorstudium Psychologie und Masterstudium Psychologie sind von der aktuellen Situation unbeeinträchtigt und finden bereits laufend in Form von Online-Interviews statt. Weitere Details unter: Bewerbung und Zulassung.

Quereinstieg Medizin

Ist für eine Quereinstiegs-Bewerbung eine Bearbeitungsgebühr zu entrichten?

Ja. Aktuelle Informationen zur Bearbeitungsgebühr finden Sie unter Anerkennung von Vorleistungen bzw. unter Aufnahmeverfahren.

Erst wenn alle Unterlagen vollständig eingereicht wurden und die Bearbeitungsgebühr eingegangen ist, kann Ihre Bewerbung weiterbearbeitet werden.

Ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob meine Vorleistungen für einen Quereinstieg ausreichend sind. Kann ich mich gleichzeitig auch für das reguläre Aufnahmeverfahren bewerben?

Ja, das ist möglich. Sie können sich über das Online-Bewerbungstool für mehrere Studiengänge parallel bewerben.

Da es sich allerdings um getrennte Bewerbungsstränge handelt, sind alle eingereichten Bewerbungen getrennt voneinander zu verfolgen (Jeweilige Fristen beachten!).

Ich habe mich für einen Quereinstieg in das Medizinstudium beworben. Muss ich auch das reguläre Aufnahmeverfahren absolvieren?

Nein, diesbezüglich gibt es ein eigenes Aufnahmeverfahren. Fixer Bestandteil ist ein mündliches Interview.
Je nach Ergebnis der Detailprüfung Ihrer eingereichten Unterlagen kann vorab zudem eine schriftliche Ergänzungsprüfung über noch offene Inhalte erforderlich sein.

Im Falle von Mehrfachbewerbungen sind alle Aufnahmeverfahren gesondert zu absolvieren.

Kann ich mich für ein bestimmtes Einstiegsjahr bzw. für einen Direkteinstieg in das Masterstudium bewerben?

Das ist nicht direkt möglich. Im Rahmen des Quereinstiegsverfahrens können Sie sich lediglich für einen Einstieg in ein höheres Studienjahr unseres Medizinstudiums bewerben. Erst die Durchsicht Ihrer Vorleistungen zeigt, welche Einstiegsoption wir Ihnen grundsätzlich anbieten könnten.

Wie stehen die Chancen einen Studienplatz zu bekommen?

Die Chance einen Studienplatz zu erhalten, hängt von den jeweils verfügbaren Quereinstiegsplätzen ab und variiert von Jahr zu Jahr. Vorabeinschätzungen während der Bewerbungsphase sind leider nicht möglich.

Wann erfahre ich, ob mir ein Studienplatz angeboten wird?

Nach der Detailprüfung Ihrer eingereichten Unterlagen erhalten Sie die Information, ob ein Quereinstieg aufgrund Ihrer Vorleistungen grundsätzlich möglich ist bzw. unter welchen Voraussetzungen wir Ihnen einen Quereinstieg anbieten könnten. Diese Information ist unabhängig der Verfügbarkeit von Studienplätzen.
Studienplatzzusagen erfolgen frühestens eine Woche nach dem eigentlichen Aufnahmeverfahren, welches üblicherweise Ende August stattfindet. Bei Ausfällen wird noch bis ca. Mitte September nachgerückt.

Events