Home / Diversity

Diversity

Equal opportunities for all

Diversity Management as a Prerequesite for a modern Private University 

 

Karl Landsteiner University (KL) is committed to working on increasing awareness of gender and diversity issues among students, faculty, researchers, and in the organization and administration. It is also committed to developing a leading voice as an advocate for gender and diversity issues in the public. KL understands "gender and diversity" as an opportunity for new standards in collaboration, new approaches to teaching, and fruitful research collaborations.

Definitions of terms

Diversity

Diversity refers to social and cultural diversity that has historically evolved and includes internal (e.g. age, gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, religion) and external (e.g., education, marital status, income) dimensions. Human traits and, above all, differences can pose challenging aspects, thus specifically aimed offers and measures should enable and promote non-discriminatory and beneficial interaction.

Diversity management

Appreciating the diversity of employees not only serves the individual personally, but also the economic success of the company or institution. The aim is to align the personnel processes and policies of organizations so on the one hand, the workforce reflects the demographic diversity of the business environment and, on the other hand, all employees experience appreciation and are motivated to contribute their potential for the benefit of the organization.

Source: charta-of-diversity

Diversity management at KL

At KL, diversity management is  grounded in management and fully embedded in the management system. The principles are set out in the charter, and objectives and actions are set out in a diversity management framework. Diversity management is a way of perceiving, valuing and promoting diversity in order to achieve the goals of the organization and to provide a good working environment for staff, faculty and students.

Diversity Dimensions

When organizations decide to strengthen and nurture diversity comprehensively, they need a foundation on which to build their diversity management. A four-level model helps us capture the differences and similarities among people in an organization. It can be used to make different factors - read: dimensions - tangible.

More details and information: HERE

Diversity at a glance

Projects and initiatives at KL dedicated to dealing with diversity

 

According to its statutes, KL has a Commission for Equality and the Advancement of Women. Its task is to counteract discrimination by university bodies on the basis of gender, as well as on the basis of ethnicity, religion or belief, age or sexual orientation, and to advise and support members and bodies of the university in these matters.

On the initiative of the Committee for Equal Opportunities Advancement of Women, a Liaison Office for Equal Treatment Issues has been established. The Liaison Office is a counseling facility for all employees and students of the KL who have experienced discrimination. The members of the Liaison Office provide advice and support in difficult situations with the utmost discretion and confidentiality.

A cooperation with the “Hilfswerk” offers free psychological counseling for KL students. This service is strictly anonymous and confidential. The experienced “Hilfswerk” team provides counseling for all stressful life situations - from anxiety, homesickness, depression, test anxiety, eating disorders, violence to problems with the housing situation, etc.

The student initiative SAFESPACE is an LGBTIQ+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, intersexual, queer) networking group. SAFESPACE creates a supportive and appreciative atmosphere for the students of the university. In an environment of acceptancestudents are thus able to develop their individual capabilites and potentials on a personal level.

Events

  1. 15 Dec

    KL Lunchtime Seminar: Towards Natural Killer Cell-Based Immune Therapy in Leukemia

    15. December 2021, 12:00 - 13:00
    Karl Landsteiner University, 3500 Krems/Donau, Wing Y, KL Auditorium
  2. 19 Jan

    KL Lunchtime Seminar: Extramedullary hematopoiesis as part of the innate immune defence against infections

    19. January 2022, 12:00 - 13:00
    Karl Landsteiner University, 3500 Krems/Donau, Wing Y, KL Auditorium
  3. 26 Jan

    KL Lunchtime Seminar: Mechanisms of solute transport through cellular membranes

    26. January 2022, 12:00 - 13:00
    Karl Landsteiner University, 3500 Krems/Donau, Wing Y, KL Auditorium

Home / Universität / Organisation / Diversity

Diversity

Gleiche Chancen für alle

Diversity Management als Voraussetzung für eine moderne Privatuniversität

Die Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität (KL) ist bestrebt, an einer erhöhten Sensibilisierung für das Thema Gender und Diversität unter Studierenden, Lehrenden, Forschenden und in der Organisation und Administration zu arbeiten. Darüber hinaus ist es ein Anliegen, auch in der Öffentlichkeit eine führende Stimme als Anwältin für Themen von Gender und Diversity zu entwickeln. Die KL sieht Konzepte von „Gender und Diversity“ als Chance für neue Qualitäten in der Kooperation, für neue Ansätze in der Lehre und fruchtbare Forschungskooperationen.

Begriffsdefinitionen

Diversität

Diversität bezieht sich auf in historischen und gesellschaftlichen Kontexten gewachsene soziale und kulturelle Vielfalt, die innere (z.B. Alter, Gender, ethnische Herkunft, sexuelle Orientierung, Religion) und äußere (z.B. Ausbildung, Familienstand, Einkommen) Dimensionen umfasst. Menschliche Gemeinsamkeiten und vor allem Verschiedenheiten können herausfordernde Aspekte mit sich bringen, weshalb durch gezielte Angebote und Maßnahmen ein diskriminierungsfreier und nutzenbringender Umgang ermöglicht und gefördert werden soll.

Diversity Management

Die Wertschätzung der Vielfalt von Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern dient nicht nur dem_der Einzelnen persönlich, sondern auch dem wirtschaftlichen Erfolg des Unternehmens oder der Institution. Ziel ist es, Personalprozesse und Personalpolitik von Organisationen so auszurichten, dass einerseits die Belegschaft die demographische Vielfalt des Geschäftsumfeldes widerspiegelt sowie andererseits alle Mitarbeitenden Wertschätzung erfahren und motiviert sind, ihr Potential zum Nutzen der Organisation einzubringen.
Quelle: charta-der-vielfalt

Diversity Management an der KL

An der KL ist Diversity Management in der Führung verankert und in das Führungssystem eingebettet. Die Grundsätze sind in der Satzung festgelegt, Ziele und Maßnahmen sind in einem Rahmenplan für Diversity Management festgehalten. Diversity Management ist ein Weg, durch den personelle Vielfalt wahrgenommen, wertgeschätzt und gefördert wird, um die Ziele der Organisation zu erreichen und Mitarbeiter_innen, Lehrenden und Studierenden ein gutes Arbeitsumfeld zu bieten. 

Die Diversity Dimensionen

Vielfaltsdimensionen

Wenn sich Organisationen entscheiden, Vielfalt umfassend zu stärken und zu pflegen, benötigen sie eine Grundlage, auf der ihr Diversity Management aufbauen kann. Ein vierstufiges Modell hilft uns, die Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten der Menschen einer Organisation zu erfassen. Mit ihm lassen sich unterschiedliche Faktoren – sprich: Dimensionen – greifbar machen.

Weitere Details und Informationen: HIER

Vielfalt im Überblick

Projekte und Initiativen an der KL, die sich dem Umgang mit Diversität widmen

An der KL besteht gemäß Satzung eine Kommission für Gleichstellung und Frauenförderung. Deren Aufgabe es ist, Diskriminierungen durch Universitätsorgane aufgrund des Geschlechts sowie aufgrund der ethnischen Zugehörigkeit, der Religion oder Weltanschauung, des Alters oder der sexuellen Orientierung entgegenzuwirken und die Angehörigen und Organe der Universität in diesen Angelegenheiten zu beraten und zu unterstützen.

Auf Initiative der Kommission für Gleichstellung und Frauenförderung wurde eine Anlaufstelle für Gleichbehandlungsfragen eingerichtet. Die Anlaufstelle ist eine Beratungseinrichtung für alle Mitarbeiter_innen und Studierende der KL, die Diskriminierung erfahren haben. Die Mitglieder der Anlaufstelle beraten und unterstützen in Problemsituationen mit höchster Diskretion sowie unter Wahrung der Verschwiegenheit.

Eine Kooperation mit dem Hilfswerk bietet eine kostenfreie psychologische Beratung für Studierende der KL. Dieses Service ist absolut anonym und vertraulich. Das erfahrene Hilfswerk-Team berät in allen belastenden Lebenslagen – von Ängsten, Heimweh, Depressionen, Prüfungsangst, Essstörungen, Gewalt bis hin zu Problemen mit der Wohnsituation, etc.

Die studentische Initiative SAFESPACE ist eine LGBTIQ+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, intersexual, queer) Netzwerkgruppe. SAFESPACE schafft eine unterstützende und wertschätzende Atmosphäre für die Studierenden der Universität, wodurch Studierenden auf persönlicher Ebene ein von Akzeptanz geprägter Entfaltungsraum ihrer individuellen Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten und Potentiale ermöglicht werden kann.

Events